Bachman Valley Railroad- Valley Junction to Blackrock
York County Roadtrip Part IV December, 2002
By the early 1900's the Western Maryland Railway had developed into compact Class 1 railroad that went from its own tidewater port west to the best crossing of the Alleghenies (see Railroutes of the Alleghenies)and on to a midwest freight connection with a group of other independent-minded railroads. Throw in WM's three coal hauling arteries and a strategic bridge route to the Reading, add a sense of class and good management, and the result was a railroad company that operated up through the 1970's and still lives on in the hearts of many to this day.
The Western Maryland, however, did not forget its roots. The genesis of the WM was a railroad company that wanted to serve local businesses in areas that the trunk lines ignored. Keeping to this mission, the WM under John Mifflin Hood connected a group of local lines in York, Adams and Franklin Counties Pennsylvania in what would become known as the Dutch Line. One of these lines, the Hanover Branch Line Railroad Company, predated the WM with its line from the Northern Central to Hanover, chartered in 1851. Connected to this line was the Bachman Valley Railroad, from Valley Junction to Black Rock. Originally, this line began in Manchester district of Carroll County at Chestnut Hill,the location of an iron ore mine. J. Thomas Scharf reports in 1881 that the road hauled "immense" quantities of ore north to Pennsylvania iron furnaces. He lists the directors as Captain A.W. Eichelberger, President,Stephen Keifer, H.C.Shriver, Joseph Dellone, Joseph Althoff, C.L. Johnson, J.W. Gitt, Levi Dubbs, Perry Wine, Edwin Thomas, Sam Thomas, E.W. Henidele, and Adam Newcomer. The Baltimore & Hanover RR, the present day Maryland portion of the WM Dutch Line. originally intersected the Bachman Valley RR at Black Rock. This railroad had the same president as the Bachman Valley RR in 1881, but different directors from Baltimore, Carroll County and Hanover PA.
This sturdy bridge crossing Codorus Creek was a product of Steelton in 1905. The location is near Kraft Mill.
Between Kraft Mill and Sinsheim was Valley Junction with the Hanover Branch Railroad. The right of way was right behind the house that looks to be contemporary with the 1850's rail line. The Western Maryland kept the historic line open from Valley Junction to Hanover Junction on the Northern Central until 1928.
When this steep line was abandoned, the town of Jefferson was left without a railroad connection. Above is the long abandoned right of way between Jefferson and Valley Junction
Sinsheim, as announced on the handpainted sign on the barn, is 46.5 miles from Baltimore by railroad.
This brick structure is often shown in earlier photos of Brodbeck
Brodbeck is home to this feed store and a very trim yellow house.
Glenville was the end of the Dutch line trip this day.